Pages

Monday, June 29, 2015

Another 2 Weeks, Another Wine Update

Uploaded By Jana Schmid on 2015-06-29 14:29:56Two weeks ago we welcomed a new MacBook Pro into our mix. This dual GPU updates our spread of hardware for game testing and brings the AMD Radeon R9 370M to our capable hands and allows us to continue our testing on the Intel Iris. We said goodbye to our Nvidia GeForce GTX 750M and sent it live out its years with our Support Ninjas at the CodeWeavers HQ.

First we tested the general functionality of Power BibleCD. This included tests with installation, menus, data entry, and printing.

Then we turned our focus to World of Tanks and the bug reports of red and green flickers in the garage. We were able to reproduce this on most in-house Intel chips prior to an update from Wargaming. Since the update we haven't been able to reproduce the flicker and are working to confirm the bug has been resolved.

Our attention then turned to Terraria. Following reports that installation had gone awry, we put this title through a rigorous testing round on four Linux distributions and the last three versions of Mac OSX (Yosemite, Mavericks, and Mountain Lion). It passed all tests provided our CrossTie was used for installation.

We then tried to understand the differences in mounting network shares over ssh, samba, gvfs, and nfs. We were able to identify differences and offer solutions and workarounds for the issues we discovered. No third party bugs were filed for this issue.

For E3 customers, we tested and updated our information on several titles. We are continuing work with the developers of those games to bring them to Mac and Linux users.

We focused on confirming the bottle upgrade process from CrossOver 13.2, 14.0, 14.1 to each version and to our development branch for Office 2003. This was based on reports that Office 2003 did not upgrade properly and lost all associations during upgrade. We found that all combinations retained the associations as expected on both Mac and Linux systems.












We continued our testing of the new Linux GUI improvements. This included testing and confirming fixes for:
  • The removal of the list of launchers in the Run Command Dialog
  • Adjustment the drop shadow of the Welcome display mode
  • Change to make the installation splash screen size static
At the request of our advocates, we reviewed the verbiage on the download page and removed the verbiage telling users that all links are only good for one session. CrossOver's download links are static and point at demo versions of the product that can be unlocked with credentials from a valid account.

At this point our regular two week testing is going well. We find that most of the applications running in Wine 1.7.45 continue to function as they do with CrossOver 14.1.3 and we have no regressions to report on this version of Wine. We are watching minor issues with Office 2010 and our developers are working to triage them as needed.

QuickBooks 2015 continues as a focus for the release of CrossOver 15. We retested a hang on launch on MacOS so no further Mac testing was completed. On Linux, we retested a hang on the open of the sample document and confirmed that our possible fixes mitigate the hang. We then tested dual screen usability with QuickBook 2015 and found that many portions of the application become dysfunctional in this setup. We tested crashes with payroll, registration, company creation and more. Unfortunately these issues persist.

We worked through reports of crashes with Steam and released CrossOver 14.1.4 with fixes for some of the crashes that were identified. This work is ongoing, there are several crashes that remain for Steam's interface.

And now we are preparing to test Office 2013 as our developers polish Wine. Screenshots of real rendering text versus magenta blobs mean that our focus will soon shift to what Microsoft Office 2013 can do in CrossOver.


The newest CodWeavers coupon promo code is ( WEAVEME ) and ( CRIMBO25 ) save 25% off CrossOver mac or Linux today!

Full Article

Friday, June 26, 2015

Hey gamers! DirectX 11 is coming to Linux thanks to CodeWeavers and Wine

The chains are loosening. DirectX still binds many PC games to Windows. Now, CodeWeavers expects CrossOver to support DirectX 11 by the end of the year, with Wine gaining compatibility shortly afterwards.

In other words, more Windows PC games will “just run” on Linux, and it’ll be easier for developers to package those games with compatibility code and officially support them on Linux.

CodeWeavers is bringing DirectX 11 to Linux

Wine already supports DirectX 9 very well, but many new games no longer support DirectX 9 and rely on newer versions of Microsoft’s graphics technology. Wine is an open-source compatibility layer that allows Windows applications to run on top of Linux, Mac OS X, and other non-Windows operating systems.

CodeWeavers offers a paid product, known as CrossOver, which is built on top of the open-source Wine code. It pays developers to add features, and those improvements inevitably end up back in the open-source Wine project. CrossOver also provides a convenient interface and more of a guarantee that certain applications will be officially supported and not break.

crossover on ubuntu
While the DirectX 11 support will make it into CodeWeavers’ product before it makes it to the open-source Wine project, the code will be open-source and submitted for inclusion into the Wine project. In other words, CodeWeavers helps fund and support the development of Wine.

During E3 2015, CodeWeavers’ James Ramey posted an update on the CodeWeavers blog:
“In the coming months, CodeWeavers will have support for DirectX 11; better controller support; and further improvements to overall GPU performance. While these incremental improvements for game support may seem small (at first), the cumulative improvements for game support will allow for many of these games to ‘just run’ when released.”
According to a post on Reddit, this code should be done by the end of 2015, and work has already been underway for seven months. The patches will of course be contributed to the open-source Wine project, too.

Why this matters

Microsoft’s DirectX graphics technology is only officially supported on Windows, Xbox, and other Microsoft platforms. The Wine project helps bridge this gap and already supports DirectX 9 very nicely.

crossover install skyrim
Using CrossOver for Linux to play Skyrim.
The new underlying CrossOver technology will also allow developers to port DirectX 11 games to Linux more easily. Linux gamers tend to dislike this type of port and prefer a native game that doesn’t use any Windows compatibility layer, but hey, it’s still better than nothing.

In the past, John Carmack of id Software and now Oculus has even argued that “emulation of some sort is a proper technical direction for gaming on Linux.” The better that DirectX compatibility gets, the easier it will be to port Windows-first games to Linux. And, even if certain games aren’t officially supported, it’ll become easier to just run them without any modification. Big game engines are increasingly supporting Linux, but general Windows compatibility is still helpful.

 The newest CodWeavers coupon promo code is ( WEAVEME ) and ( CRIMBO25 ) save 25% off CrossOver mac or Linux today!

Full Article

Thursday, June 25, 2015

The 10 Things I learned at E3

This year, I was fortunate enough to attend E3 in Los Angeles. For those that do not know, E3 is the Electronic Entertainment Expo and spotlights the upcoming video games and other things electronic (mostly just video games) from all the top developers in the world. E3 is much like being at Las Vegas, if Las Vegas was on Red Bull and hadn't slept for 48 hours or so. And while it's hard to focus on any one thing in particular, I was able to learn quite a bit during my two days in California.

1.) Teaming is everything.
Games are moving away from the simple premise that it's you vs. the computer game. Now, it's you and your teammates vs.
people from around the world in a variety of combat situations / simulations. Games are more about 'team sport' and 'high performance' than about solving riddles or achieving simple goals. And gamers are taking this 'team thing' seriously as there is now a Professional Gaming League for most of these games. If your parents ever told you that you couldn't make a living playing video games, THEY LIED TO YOU. The top gamers now make six figure incomes playing games and are treated like 'rock stars' at these events.

2.) You can teach an old dog new tricks.
Just because Star Wars is almost 40 years old doesn't mean it's going softly into that good night. Let that sink in for a minute… Star Wars will turn 40 on May 25, 2017. FORTY!!! Even so, this year E3 featured four Star Wars themed games and all of them looked AWESOME! Maybe the best of the bunch is Star Wars Battlefront (20 vs. 20 multi-player combat game) as it provides you the opportunity to not only fight on the ground (alongside Luke Skywalker or Darth Vader) but also pilot various ships. I'm not sure how much cooler a game based on a 'worn out' 40 year old premise can get!

3.) First person shooters games aren't going to be first for much longer.
Not every upcoming game is focused on killing your opponents (I'm looking at you, Nintendo). E3 featured a smackling of games like Yoshi's Wooly World, Splatoon, Rock Band 4, and Roy Mcllroy PGA Tour (albeit there's a lot of damage you can do with a 4 iron) amongst the otherwise violent staples. Interestingly enough, many of these 'tamer' games got very positive reviews and were very well received which goes to show that a well done game is a well done game and can be appreciated on its own merits.

4.) You can't polish a turd, but you can still roll it in glitter.
Batman: Arkham Knight for the PC is a beautiful but very broken game. Thousands of bad reviews won't 'patch' this game on the PC anytime soon.

5.) Sequels are good if you do them right.
If it worked once or twice or three times, you can most likely get another title out of it. Call of Duty: Black Ops 3, Assassin's Creed Syndicate, Payday 2, XCOM 2, and Uncharted 4: A Thief's End are just a handful of the sequels coming out this fall. And if you liked playing these games the first time, you'll appreciate the opportunity of déjà vu all over again. Not sure we need a Street Fighter V, but I guess these franchises will live on (at least for another year).

6.) Twitch isn't just a short, sudden jerking movement.
Twitch is a real thing! I guess I'm shocked that an Internet channel dedicated to broadcasting professional league battles of various video games is a real thing. But at E3, it was Twitch that was broadcasting live from almost every booth just like a major network. Twitch has actual commentators, features professional gamers, and announces video game battles just like announcers would do for a professional sport. It was wild to hear commentary of in-game battles and have announcers describe the action. I'm pretty sure that they were making most of it up as they went along; BUT, they were making it up as they went along. I remember doing the same thing as a child when playing my favorite Atari 2600 games. Of course back then, my parents thought it was weird and had me quiet down. Today, I'd be a rock star with my own show.

7.) Behind every successful E3 visit is a fabulous pair of shoes.
E3 covers a lot of physical space. I averaged walking almost five miles a day to cover all the ground in both convention halls.
Honestly, I don't even like to drive five miles. Glad I brought a good pair of shoes.

8.) A man, a tan and a plan.
Okay well, maybe not a tan. It's hard to see everything at E3. As such, I planned what I wanted to do and where I wanted to go beforehand. Even with a plan in place, it was challenging to see all the exhibits and games I wanted to see. Worse yet, most games had a one to two hour wait in line. Heck, the wait to see the 12 minute movie for XCOM2 took nearly 50 minutes (a 50 minute line to see a movie about a game – smells of Disneyworld). But, I did get to play Witcher III, SMITE, Alekhine's Gun, Battlecry, Blood Bowl 2, and Pro Evolution Soccer 2016. Very cool games, but they all required a bit of planning and patience (and possibly pushing people out of the way) to experience.

9.) Every day is a fashion show and E3 is your runway.
I found it hard not to stare at people who were dressed up in elaborate costumes of their favorite video game characters. Boba Fett, check. Chun Li, check. Lara Croft, check. I'm not sure I'd ever take my love for video games to 'this level', but it was commendable to see others so dedicated to 'their game' (and honestly if you're going to walk around a convention hall in a Princess Leia bikini, you should be commended for your bravery).

10.) E3 is CodeWeavers oyster.
Not many Mac or Linux titles on the horizon. There was obviously 'some' titles coming to the other platforms, but it's still a predominately PC world. To this effect, I think CodeWeavers can help in supporting some of these titles for Mac or Linux users in CrossOver. We'll be looking to get Beta of many of the top games from E3 to work on support for the coming version of CrossOver. And while we might not get every game, I'm sure that there will be one or two or more games that will run very well in our technology.

The newest CodWeavers coupon promo code is ( WEAVEME ) and ( CRIMBO25 ) save 25% off CrossOver mac or Linux today!

Full Article

Saturday, June 20, 2015

Direct X 10 and 11 coming to Mac and Linux computers


Direct X 10 and 11 is on its way to Mac and Linux computers via Wine and CrossOver.

From the last paragraph of this post 

How do these games impact Mac and Linux users? Well, they don't. That's the rub in all of this. Most of these games are PC only. However, you might still be able to play these titles on your Mac or Linux computer when they are released later this year using CrossOver. In the coming months, CodeWeavers will have support for DirectX 11; better controller support; and further improvements to overall GPU performance. While these incremental improvements for game support may seem small (at first), the cumulative improvements for game support will allow for many of these games to 'just run' when released. And when more games 'just run' in CrossOver, it won't matter if you're battling against Thor or Apollo using a PC, a Mac, or a Linux computer.

 The newest CodWeavers coupon promo code is ( WEAVEME ) and ( CRIMBO25 ) save 25% off CrossOver mac or Linux today!

Get New Wine Features Faster With Wine Staging

Wine Staging is a Wine version which provides bug fixes and features that aren't yet available in regular Wine versions.

Wine Staging (formerly known as Wine Compholio) was initially created for Pipelight, a project that brings Silverlight and other Windows-only plugins to Linux web browsers. The project has evolved and some Linux distributions, like Fedora, provide it in the official repositories instead of the regular Wine version.

The latest Wine Staging provides the following extra features and bug fixes:
  • CSMT (Commandstream multithreading) for better graphic performance
  • CUDA / PhysX / NVENC Support for NVIDIA graphic cards
  • DXVA2 GPU video decoding (experimental)
  • EAX 1 support
  • Fixes for various upstream regressions
  • Job Object support
  • Loading of .NET CLI images without entry point
  • Named Pipe message mode support (Linux kernel >= 3.4 only)
  • Performance improvements for IO-heavy programs and memory allocation functions
  • S3 texture compression (DXTn) support
  • Threadpool API support
  • Various improvements to d3dx9
  • Various speed improvements (shared memory, RT priority)
  • Windows ACL support
  • Wine PulseAudio driver
For a complete list, see the Wine Staging GitHub page.

Some of these features are optional and they can enabled or disabled via Wine Configuration, on the Staging tab:



Install Wine Staging in Ubuntu or Linux Mint


Wine Staging is available in the Pipelight PPA for Ubuntu, Linux Mint and derivatives. To add the PPA and install Wine Staging, use the following commands:
 
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:pipelight/stable
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install --install-recommends wine-staging
 
If you're on 64bit and want to use the 64bit Wine version, also install 'wine-staging-amd64':
 
sudo apt-get install wine-staging-amd64
 
The Wine Staging executables aren't installed in /usr/bin (and aren't available in your PATH by default), but under /opt/wine-staging/bin/. Thanks to this, you can continue using the regular Wine version as well as Wine Staging - to run any Wine Staging executable, simply add "/opt/wine-staging/bin/" in front of the executable, like this:

/opt/wine-staging/bin/wine
/opt/wine-staging/bin/winecfg
... and so on.

However, if you don't want to type the full path each time you want to use Wine Staging, you can install a package which provides compatibility symlinks (but you won't be able to use the regular Wine version any more):
 
sudo apt-get install wine-staging-compat

For more information, see the Wine Staging Usage page.

The Wine Staging developers provide binaries for Arch Linux, Debian, Gentoo, Mageia and OpenSUSE - for installation instructions, see THIS page.
 
 The newest CodWeavers coupon promo code is ( WEAVEME ) and ( CRIMBO25 ) save 25% off CrossOver Mac or Linux today!
 

How to play Terraria on Mac OS X

You are using Mac OS X and you can’t find a way to run Terraria on your Mac? Don’t worry, in this tutorial I’m gonna show you the easiest way to play Terraria on Mac by using CrossOver.
how-to-play-terraria-on-mac-os-x

Play Terraria on Mac OS X Tutorial

  • Download and install CrossOver at here: https://www.codeweavers.com/products/crossover-mac/download/
  • After installing, visit this website, and click on “Install Terraria via CrossTie(in web browser)
  • Click “Install”.
  • Keep install various softwares requested. After done, a window pop up with two button : “Restart later” or “Restart now”, just click on Restart now.
  • Wait for Steam update
  • When Steam’s main window is shown up, shut it down and reopen it.
  • Log in to Steam then install Terraria and play!
The newest CodWeavers coupon promo code is ( WEAVEME ) and ( CRIMBO25 ) save 25% off CrossOver mac or Linux today!

It’s All About the Team at E3 The Super Bowl of Computer Gaming

This week, I am at E3, the Super Bowl of computer gaming! Right off the bat, I noticed that game studios have fully embraced this whole team aspect thing. It's not you vs. the bad guys. It's you and 15 or 20 of your teammates vs. 15 or 20 people on another team fighting to the death within a certain time limit in a confined area no bigger than a phone booth. Mass carnage with surreal graphics in mind-blowing locations at a frantic pace. And again, it's your team vs. the world. No team? No problem! These games are more than happy to put you on a randomly created team from a pool of available players just waiting to get a taste of the action.

As I step up and play on a random team, I instantly notice the lack of cohesiveness that results in decisive victory (the kind of victory where someone on the other team might just quit playing). And to that, I don't know 15 or 20 people that would be willing to team up with me to take on the world. Which, in hindsight, is probably for the best as discearning victory usually requires practice. PRACTICE??? Who's got time for practice? I'm lucky with my schedule that I even get to play games at this stage of my life (husband, father, suburbs, three dogs). So, I'll be sticking to random teams – for now. I just wish that the time I spent in my youth on Atari 2600 and Nintendo wasn't so largely wasted leaving me unprepared for today's gaming.

Don't get me wrong, it's not that I don't try (even at my age – 43) to prepare and compete in these games against vastly superior and considerably younger gamers. I try. I bought a headset with a microphone. I spend countless hours at work playing a variety of these team concept video games. I even sneak away in the evenings to log in an hour or two just to increase my rankings. HECK, I'm even spending some of my entertainment money on upgrades and add-ons for these video games (just to compete). My problem is that I'm not willing or able to commit the 60 hours or so a week it would take for me to actually be GOOD at these games. I can buy all the upgrades I want, but it doesn't negate the fact that these 13-year-old kids are twitchy and fueled by Red Bull.

Soooooooooooo…. E3. Team based games? Check. Games where you can be Darth Vader, a mythical god, an elite sniper, world class soccer player, or even vicious dwarf? Check again. From what I've seen so far, the 'must have' games for 2015 are going to Star Wars Battlefront, a 40 vs. 40 mass assault where you're battling as either the Rebels or the Empireon the ground and in the air on worlds like Hoth and Endor; Smite, a seven vs. seven arena based combat where you can be an actual mythical god battling other mythical gods; Rainbow Six Siege, a five on five strategic assault where you are either a member of an elite military unit or part of a faction that is a threat to freedom; and the impressive list of games from both established and indie game studios goes on. The games all appear incredible and the action is non-stop. You attack. You die. You restart. You improve. And you do it again!!! It's like that Tom Cruise movie, 'Edge of Tomorrow' – LIVE. DIE. REPEAT.

How do these games impact Mac and Linux users? Well, they don't. That's the rub in all of this. Most of these games are PC only. However, you might still be able to play these titles on your Mac or Linux computer when they are released later this year using CrossOver. In the coming months, CodeWeavers will have support for DirectX 11; better controller support; and further improvements to overall GPU performance. While these incremental improvements for game support may seem small (at first), the cumulative improvements for game support will allow for many of these games to 'just run' when released. And when more games 'just run' in CrossOver, it won't matter if you're battling against Thor or Apollo using a PC, a Mac, or a Linux computer.

 The newest CodWeavers coupon promo code is ( WEAVEME ) and ( CRIMBO25 ) save 25% off CrossOver mac or Linux today!

Full Article

Wednesday, June 10, 2015

Linux – uruchamianie Windowsowych programów

 CodeWeavers CrossOver Polish Review thanks Mariusz Łączak !

Dzisiaj wpis trochę z innej dziedziny, a mianowicie o systemie Linux i uruchamianiu aplikacji z Windows. Jako, że ja od ok. 10 lat pracuję na systemie linux, to nie mam problemów z jego użytkowaniem. Osoby, które dopiero zaczynają przygodę z linuxem mogą mieć problemy z pewnymi aplikacjami. Duża część windowsowych aplikacji ma swoje „zamienniki” na linuxa, np. MS Office/Open Office, Photoshop/Gimp, itp. Również ostatnio za sprawą Steam coś ruszyło z grami i bez problemu uruchomimy natywnie CS, CS:Source, CS:GO czy inne gry. Czasami jednak zachodzi potrzeba uruchomienia jakiegoś programu/gry z Windowsa na Linuxie, lub nie znamy odpowiednika. Co wtedy? Z pomocą przychodzi nam aplikacja CrossOver/Wine.

Każdy użytkownik Linuxa na pewno słyszał o Wine, czyli programie umożliwiającym uruchamianie oprogramowania napisanego na Windows pod Linuksem. Wine jest bezpłatne, ale posiada płatny odpowiednik – CrossOver. Na stronie producenta kosztuje 30-40 dolarów.

CrossOver Linux to bazująca na otwartym projekcie Wine aplikacja umożliwiająca uruchamianie oprogramowania dla systemu Windows na platformie Linux. Aplikacja zapewnia wsparcie dla długiej listy popularnych programów. Wszystkie obsługiwane aplikacje znajdują się pod adresem codeweavers.com. Wersja testowa pozwala na korzystanie z programu przez okres 14 dni.

The newest CodWeavers coupon promo code is ( WEAVEME ) and ( CRIMBO25 ) save 25% off CrossOver mac or Linux today!

Full Review

GOL Survey Results for May 2015 Do you use Wine to play games on Linux

Many thanks to the 1508 people who took the time to complete this survey! That’s less than the 2362 who took the survey last time, but still over the 1000 mark which I wanted to stay above. Hopefully it will stay around that mark and hopefully we aren’t getting repeat responses and things which might cause issues.

Question 1 - Do you currently use Linux as your primary PC gaming platform?
image

Question 2 - Did you use Wine to play games last month?
image

The newest CodWeavers coupon promo code is ( WEAVEME ) and ( CRIMBO25 ) save 25% off CrossOver mac or Linux today!

Full Article

Monday, June 8, 2015

Running Windows Applications On A Mac Without Windows CrossOver 14.1.3 Review

Running Windows applications on Linux and Mac systems has come a long way. I remember doing virtual machines, like QEMU, and VirtualBox, running a guest in Vista or XP, and while it does run as expected, the overhead costs of running a whole operating system in a VM environment can be big (I still do use these programs, particularly VBox for development purposes).

Around 2004-2007ish, I’ve was doing some application testings for a little program named WINE (I also have a friend, Tom Wickline, of Wine Reviews, who incidentally was the indirect reason why I created this blog in the first place (we did a review of PlayOnLinux in the past together, and it was so much fun, that I created this blog out of a whim). No, WINE is not a alcoholic drink, but instead it is rather a program that emulates different Windows APIs in linux and mac systems. It was also a challenge to compile for beginners too (I do not compile in mainstream linux OSes in the past but rather in smaller hobbyist type Linuxes like Alinux/PeanutLinux or PCLinuxOS). Real life happened though, so I had to give up this hobby.

The advantage of running WINE over Virtual Machine solutions is no overhead costs and the application runs at particularly native speeds. The disadvantage of running WINE is that not all programs run (Windows has a lot of APIs under the hood, and WINE doesn’t implement all of them).

In this particular article, I am running CrossOver 14.1.3 for Mac, on an early 2011 MacBook Pro (8,1) with 4GB of RAM and Intel HD 3000 Graphics (384MB Shared Memory Display).

Also for this particular experiment, I am installing a CodeWeavers supported application (Microsoft Office 2007), and two unsupported, but community supported applications (Mass Effect, and Tomb Raider 2013)

Before We Start
Before we start, let us see the levels of compatibility in these programs according to WINE compatibility levels:

Bronze – programs can install and run, with fundamental functionalities intact. However, the applications running have enough bugs that CodeWeavers advises running them with caution (save early and often).

Silver – programs can install and run well enough to be usable. There are however bugs that are found to let the program run flawlessly.

Gold – programs can install and run as you would expect if you are running Windows.

A further level of support for CodeWeavers is officially supported. That means if your application is in the list of officially supported applications, CodeWeavers is dedicated to bring up the level of compatibility higher (for example, supported bronze applications is expected to be brought up to silver level applications of CodeWeaver in future versions of CrossOver).

Microsoft Office (Officially Supported, Bronze)
Microsoft Office is an Office Suite of Word Processor, Spreadsheet, Presentation Software, among others. It is basically the proprietary equivalent of LibreOffice/OpenOffice. As such, CrossOver supports Microsoft Office officially.

 The newest CodWeavers coupon promo code is ( WEAVEME ) and ( CRIMBO25 ) save 25% off CrossOver mac or Linux today!

Full Review

Saturday, June 6, 2015

Limited number of FREE CodeWeavers CrossOver Mac and Linux licenses available

 Update 6/10/2015

I now have six licenses remaining to give to reviewers, if your interested to write a review about CodeWeavers CrossOver Mac or Linux this is your chance. 

I have ten CodeWeavers CrossOver licenses available, five for CrossOver Mac and five for CrossOver Linux to give away to web sites or individuals who are interested in writing a review of CrossOver Mac or Linux. The license are valued at $59.95 each and are good for a one year subscription.

What's needed :

  1. A website to host your review
  2. A Linux or Mac computer
  3. Windows Games or Applications, you can look at the compatibility center for known software that works.
What will you receive for your review :

  1. A full copy of CrossOver Mac or Linux
  2. Back links from this and other sites.. Think SEO
  3. Your review posted on winehq.org Facebook and other social sites e,g Google+ , Twitter etc etc with back links to your review.
How can you contact me about doing a review :

You can leave a comment here, please include a link to your website, don't worry all comments here are moderated and won't be made public or go to Facebook and send me a message. Not the ( Contact Us ) but a Message, The Contact Us actually points to WineHQ Donate page...  :)

I would like to have a Spanish, Russian, Hindi, German, French and English or other major language Chinese or Italian etc etc :) review to broaden the overall reader base. This will not only make it easier for you to write the review in your native language but for your local readers to better understand the review.

Keep in mind license and reviews will be accepted on a first come first serve basis, I'm not trying to get the greatest reviews but more importantly truly honest and unbiased reviews.


Wednesday, June 3, 2015

New winehq.org Facebook page available

 I recently put up a new winehq.org Facebook page and with the help of Caron Wills from the Empire we have been posting Wine related news and links. We hope the page is a place for Wine related news, information and conversations. With that said we invite you to like and follow us on Facebook.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/winehqorg/1634558060090404

CodeWeavers Experiments with Oculus Support for Mac and Linux

CodeWeavers CrossOver now has support for the Oculus Rift!
Uploaded By Jana Schmid on 2015-05-29 14:44:23
Well, our internal testing builds do, anyway. Here at CodeWeavers, we're excited about what virtual reality can bring to gaming and other computing applications. The Oculus Rift is currently the largest VR (Virtual Reality) headset available for purchase, so we've decided to integrate support for it into CrossOver.

Once we've released support in our public builds, playing Windows Oculus games with CrossOver on your Rift will be just as easy as with any native Mac OSX or Linux Oculus application. Integration between your Windows Oculus application and your hardware should be seamless. We've been "testing" ;) with a DK2 here in the office, and it's been an impressive experience.

Caveats? There's a couple. This is an experimental feature in CrossOver, and some games access the Rift hardware in a way that Wine doesn't yet support. We hope to have this repaired soon, but some particular applications may fail to detect the Rift hardware.

More worryingly, Oculus has decided to drop support for Linux and OSX. While our Oculus integration works for now, it does depend on your having a Linux or Mac OSX SDK, which is no longer supported by Oculus. Depending on changes to future Windows Oculus SDK versions, we could fail to support games built against those new SDKs.

But don't lose hope! It would be difficult, but we could build support for the Windows Oculus SDK in CrossOver. That's right: CrossOver could become the only way to use the Oculus Rift on Mac OSX and Linux. But this is all hypothetical. It depends on what Oculus decides to do for their Linux and Mac users.

If you've got a Rift and are interested in trying out our support, contact our Caron at caron@codeweavers.com and ask for a nightly build. If you want more information about our solution for Oculus, contact our sales team at sales@codeweavers.com. We'd love to have your support and feedback.

We're also interested in building support for other VR headsets. As soon as some other headsets come on the market, like Valve and HTC's Vive headset or Microsoft's HoloLens, we'll be thinking about adding support so you can have the freedom to use your Windows VR games and applications on Linux and OSX.

About Andrew Eikum
Andrew has been a Wine developer at CodeWeavers since 2009. He works on all parts of Wine, but specifically supports Wine's audio. He's also a developer on many of CodeWeavers's software ports.
 

About CodeWeavers
Founded in 1996 as a general software consultancy, CodeWeavers focuses on the development of Wine – the core technology found in all of its CrossOver products. The company's goal is to bring expanded market opportunities for Windows software developers by making it easier, faster and more painless to port Windows software to Mac OS and Linux. CodeWeavers is recognized as a leader in open-source Windows porting technology, and maintains development offices in Minnesota, the United Kingdom and elsewhere around the world. The company is privately held.

 The newest CodWeavers coupon promo code is ( WEAVEME ) and ( CRIMBO25 ) save 25% off CrossOver mac or Linux today!