Pages

Monday, March 31, 2008

PlayOnLinux 2.0.10 released

This Page Has Been Moved: Please Note the New Location Below

We restructured the whole site and this page no longer exists on this location. The page that your looking for has been moved to a different Web address on the new and improved Wine-Reviews.net Site:


Click on the link above to go to the new location. (To maintain accessibility, we have not set up automatic redirection to the new page.) If you have a bookmark to the old page, please change it to the new address above. If you followed a link from another Web site to this page, please let the people responsible for that Web site know the new location above. If you are having trouble finding the information you want, do a search on this article at our new site.

Thanks for your understanding and Sorry for the inconvenience.

The Editors at Wine-Reviews




Putty for Mac
Putty for Mac
$15.00

https://winereviews.onfastspring.com/putty-for-mac


winetricks 20080328 released

This Page Has Been Moved: Please Note the New Location Below

We restructured the whole site and this page no longer exists on this location. The page that your looking for has been moved to a different Web address on the new and improved Wine-Reviews.net Site:


Click on the link above to go to the new location. (To maintain accessibility, we have not set up automatic redirection to the new page.) If you have a bookmark to the old page, please change it to the new address above. If you followed a link from another Web site to this page, please let the people responsible for that Web site know the new location above. If you are having trouble finding the information you want, do a search on this article at our new site.

Thanks for your understanding and Sorry for the inconvenience.

The Editors at Wine-Reviews




Putty for Mac
Putty for Mac
$15.00

https://winereviews.onfastspring.com/putty-for-mac


Sunday, March 30, 2008

Darwine 0.9.58 and some interesting stats

From Random tidbits of Information

These builds are and will always be Intel only. Wine, and by extension, these builds of Darwine do not emulate anything. It is an API layer. For it to run on PPC, it would need to emulate some x86 stuff. This is what Darwine originally attempted to do in combination with QEMU, however it is no longer necessary with the switch to Intel.
There is nothing that I can do about OpenGL not working. You can grab updated X11 packages here. There is a patch concerning libGL that has been entered into the git tree. According to the X11/XQuartz mailing lists, it will be released sometime around April 1st. This patch should hopefully fix the problem.

Latest
Leopard, Darwine 0.9.58, Freetype 2.3.5, FontForge py25-20080302, Symlinks fonts, Darwine SDK. Tiger should be out sometime on sunday or monday (hopefully).

I’ve been building Darwine for a couple months now - since June 2007 or so! Since then, I’ve been running a stats program and figured I’d share some interesting results; Download totals, Bandwidth used, etc. I put it all in a nice Numbers spreadsheet and here’s what came out: (There were more stats - browser popularity, OS popularity, etc - but I messed the script that goes through the stat logs up and the data got mangled and isn’t really accurate. I fixed it for a few of the more interesting things though.)


*Note, all data amounts are given in Gigabytes, not Gigabits.
**Bandwidth Used / Day is the average of all the months, not the total added up.
Some things to note are that although the overall download total decreased in February, the amount of bandwidth used is greater then in January. Also, the # of distinct or individual hosts that downloaded Darwine is greater in February then in January despite the two day difference.
Link: Random tidbits of Information

Friday, March 28, 2008

Sega Rally Revo with Wine

This Page Has Been Moved: Please Note the New Location Below

We restructured the whole site and this page no longer exists on this location. The page that your looking for has been moved to a different Web address on the new and improved Wine-Reviews.net Site:


Click on the link above to go to the new location. (To maintain accessibility, we have not set up automatic redirection to the new page.) If you have a bookmark to the old page, please change it to the new address above. If you followed a link from another Web site to this page, please let the people responsible for that Web site know the new location above. If you are having trouble finding the information you want, do a search on this article at our new site.

Thanks for your understanding and Sorry for the inconvenience.

The Editors at Wine-Reviews




Putty for Mac
Putty for Mac
$15.00

https://winereviews.onfastspring.com/putty-for-mac


Thursday, March 27, 2008

Office 2007 on Linux with Wine install guide

This Page Has Been Moved: Please Note the New Location Below

We restructured the whole site and this page no longer exists on this location. The page that your looking for has been moved to a different Web address on the new and improved Wine-Reviews.net Site:


Click on the link above to go to the new location. (To maintain accessibility, we have not set up automatic redirection to the new page.) If you have a bookmark to the old page, please change it to the new address above. If you followed a link from another Web site to this page, please let the people responsible for that Web site know the new location above. If you are having trouble finding the information you want, do a search on this article at our new site.

Thanks for your understanding and Sorry for the inconvenience.

The Editors at Wine-Reviews




Putty for Mac
Putty for Mac
$15.00

https://winereviews.onfastspring.com/putty-for-mac


Tuesday, March 25, 2008

Google Summer of Coders wanted!

This Page Has Been Moved: Please Note the New Location Below

We restructured the whole site and this page no longer exists on this location. The page that your looking for has been moved to a different Web address on the new and improved Wine-Reviews.net Site:


Click on the link above to go to the new location. (To maintain accessibility, we have not set up automatic redirection to the new page.) If you have a bookmark to the old page, please change it to the new address above. If you followed a link from another Web site to this page, please let the people responsible for that Web site know the new location above. If you are having trouble finding the information you want, do a search on this article at our new site.

Thanks for your understanding and Sorry for the inconvenience.

The Editors at Wine-Reviews




Putty for Mac
Putty for Mac
$15.00

https://winereviews.onfastspring.com/putty-for-mac


An introduction to CrossOver Games

What exactly is CrossOver Games

CrossOver Games is a commercial variant of Wine released by CodeWeavers with support for many of today's most popular games. CrossOver Games is tested for performance and stability with many games such as Guild Wars, Eve Online, and Steam games like Half-Life 2 and Portal.
Minimum system requirements

Linux:
  • An x86 based Linux distribution based on glibc 2.3 or greater
  • Perl 5 or greater
  • IJG JPEG library (libjpeg)
  • It is also recommended that you have a web browser installed.
  • 40MB of available disk space (plus space for the Windows applications)
  • 64MB of RAM
Mac:
  • Intel-based Macintosh system running Mac OS X
  • 120 MB of free disk space
  • Systems with integrated Intel GPUs will suffer some performance degradation on graphically intense games.
The Demo version of CrossOver

The demo version of CrossOver has all the functions and features of the full version. Any Windows software that works on a full version will also run in the demo version, and vice versa. The important limitation of the demo version is that bottles can only be used for 7 days. This means that any Windows packages that you install using the demo version will cease to work 7 days after their installation. When a demo installation is unlocked, all existing bottles and applications are unlocked as well. To unlock a demo, you must have a support account with CodeWeavers. You can purchase CrossOver licenses and support contracts from the vendor that provided you with your demo or directly from the CodeWeavers store. During purchase you will be asked to provide an email address and password. This address and password will be used to unlock your demo install.

Supported Games

World of Warcraft
Guild Wars
EVE Online
Half-Life (via CD or Steam)
Half-Life 2 and variants such as Counter-Strike (via Steam)
Team Fortress 2
Portal
Call of Duty (via Steam)
Call of Duty 2 (via Steam)
Prey (via Steam)
Day of Defeat (via Steam)


Many games that are not on the Supported list will still work just fine. For a list of such applications, visit the CodeWeavers CrossOver Compatibility Center. At the compatibility center you can search for games, read about other users' experiences, and post tips and hints for other users.

Cost and Support of CrossOver Games

If your a current owner of CrossOver Office you will receive a complimentary copy of CrossOver Games. If by chance you don't currently own a copy of CrossOver Office you can purchase the stand alone Games product for only $39.95 with your purchase you will receive six months of professional support through their support ticket system, you can join in the discussions that take place at the C4 compatibility center, join a mailing list, vote for your favorite game, and much more.

A purchase also goes toward helping support a full time Wine hacker! the folks at CodeWeavers have over the years given back well over 98% of all the code modifications that went into CrossOver to the Wine project.

CrossOver Games Screenshots

CrossOver Games Gnome menu entries



When you select "Configuration" from the menu "CrossOver Games Setup" the setup tool will start.



If you select install software the installation process will begin.









After you select the bottle you want to install your application or game into the install process will start.



After the install has finished your application or game will be placed in the Add/Remove software window.



In the Add/Remove tab you will see "Advanced Settings"





If you want to manage a bottle select the "Manage Bottles" tab and proceed.



Here is some screenshots of the "Manage Bottles" tab, this is where you configure CrossOver Games to your desired liking.











From the system menu if you select "Install Windows Software" you will see this window, and shortly afterwards the "Install Windows Software" window will start.



To register your copy of CrossOver Games select the "Register and unlock this demo" from the system menu. You will need to enter your email address and password and the register tool will conect to the CrossOver store and proceed with the registration.



To run a Windows command select "Run a Windows Command" from the system menu. Select a bottle and then run a Windows command from that bottle.



To terminate a Windows application select "Terminate Windows Application" from the system menu.



To uninstall CrossOver Games select "Uninstall" from the system menu. You can choose to leave all of your previously configured bottles intact if you wish to do so.



To run a Windows game from the system menu select "Windows Games" and simply navigate to the menu entry and choose the installed game.



CrossOver Games Mac GUI
















In our next post we will be doing a review of Steam, Half-Life and Half-Life 2 via the Steam install in CrossOver Games.


Monday, March 24, 2008

DirectX 10 for XP in Wine

This Page Has Been Moved: Please Note the New Location Below

We restructured the whole site and this page no longer exists on this location. The page that your looking for has been moved to a different Web address on the new and improved Wine-Reviews.net Site:


Click on the link above to go to the new location. (To maintain accessibility, we have not set up automatic redirection to the new page.) If you have a bookmark to the old page, please change it to the new address above. If you followed a link from another Web site to this page, please let the people responsible for that Web site know the new location above. If you are having trouble finding the information you want, do a search on this article at our new site.

Thanks for your understanding and Sorry for the inconvenience.

The Editors at Wine-Reviews




Putty for Mac
Putty for Mac
$15.00

https://winereviews.onfastspring.com/putty-for-mac


Safari on Linux with Wine

This Page Has Been Moved: Please Note the New Location Below

We restructured the whole site and this page no longer exists on this location. The page that your looking for has been moved to a different Web address on the new and improved Wine-Reviews.net Site:


Click on the link above to go to the new location. (To maintain accessibility, we have not set up automatic redirection to the new page.) If you have a bookmark to the old page, please change it to the new address above. If you followed a link from another Web site to this page, please let the people responsible for that Web site know the new location above. If you are having trouble finding the information you want, do a search on this article at our new site.

Thanks for your understanding and Sorry for the inconvenience.

The Editors at Wine-Reviews




Putty for Mac
Putty for Mac
$15.00

https://winereviews.onfastspring.com/putty-for-mac


Sunday, March 23, 2008

NVIDIA Demos with WINE

About NVIDIA Demos

In order to showcase the prowess of GeForce chipsets, Nvidia creates technology demos that render in real-time on the chipsets in question (while videos are usually also made available).
There are many ways to prove our graphics cards with games, the famous 3dmark or benchmarks. Depending on the model of our graphics card (Nvidia or Ati), we can prove to various demos that demonstrate the full power of our gpus. This demos are modes of presentation for future models. A few days I wanted to test all the technology demos for my gpu, on this website are available all the demos: http://www.nzone.com/object/nzone_downloads_nvidia.html.

As my gpu is not in the serie 8xxx I tested with all the demos from "Box of Smoke", I tested the demos most important that have not seen in Wine AppDB

Wine configuration

This is with a clean configuration directory and running in a 1024x768 virtual desktop (with demo Mad Mod Mike 1280x1024 virtual desktop).

Windows version emulated: XP
Wine version tested: 0.9.58

The installation of all these demos is not very complicated, I recommend execute by terminal.
Demos can be found in / .wine / drive_c / Program Files / NVIDIA Corporation / NVIDIA Demos / "name of the demo".

Gallery of photos
I made a few pictures of demos that work, you can click on the pictures to see them in real size:




The quality and performance of Luna and Mad Mod Mike require pixelshaders 3.0, Transluce and Depth of Field, the fluidity that show is amazing, these demos were not working a month ago . Seeing these advances in applications 3d, I am not surprised that version 1.0 of wine will be launched in June.

https://www.codeweavers.com/store/?dealcode=unity